Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS


Check your ping before a game (on a mac)

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Capo Ferro

Senior Software Developer

07-11-2011

Quote:
FingeredDander:
Ohhhh i have terrible ping...


This depends very heavily on where you are in the world. The game servers you connect to can be one of a number of different places in the world, generally as close to you as we can manage. The server posted at the beginning of the thread that you are pinging is not necessarily the one you will be connected to when you play the game.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

FossaFerox

Senior Member

07-11-2011

Wait, you can play LoL on Mac OS? o_O


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

YSfighter

Senior Member

07-11-2011

Quote:
FossaFerox:
Wait, you can play LoL on Mac OS? o_O


Sigh.... Yes we can. This thread doesn't tell you that somehow?


@ Capo - so who is on the Mac dev team exactly? Is there a Mac dev team atm? Or is it just Transgaming?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Capo Ferro

Senior Software Developer

07-11-2011

Quote:
YSfighter:
Sigh.... Yes we can. This thread doesn't tell you that somehow?


@ Capo - so who is on the Mac dev team exactly? Is there a Mac dev team atm? Or is it just Transgaming?


As far as I know, there currently isn't one. I'm not sure who all used to work on it, either (I'm new, remember :P ), but I'd be interested to find out. I'll poke around a bit.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

YSfighter

Senior Member

07-12-2011

Quote:
Capo Ferro:
As far as I know, there currently isn't one. I'm not sure who all used to work on it, either (I'm new, remember :P ), but I'd be interested to find out. I'll poke around a bit.


Cool Cause we were honestly wondering how we could get across to this team where ever they may be. Cause we have pretty extensive reports that they can benefit from instead of just patching us randomly each patch. I mean they has to be some team since we do receive patches


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Jerz

Senior Member

07-12-2011

Quote:
Velkorious:
This is a useful way to check your ping before even starting a game, particularly if you're in a place where your network can get clogged and laggy (like a college campus)

1. Open the following program: Applications/Utilities/Network Utility
2. Click the Ping tab.
3. Type in the following address to one of Riot's servers: 216.52.241.254 ( another one is 66.151.54.190 )
4. Then click Ping.

Wait 10 seconds for the results. Check the highlighted number to see your average ping. Mine is 83:
[CODE]Ping has started ...

PING 216.52.241.254 (216.52.241.254): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=0 ttl=244 time=83.147 ms
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=1 ttl=244 time=81.737 ms
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=2 ttl=244 time=81.843 ms
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=3 ttl=244 time=83.143 ms
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=4 ttl=244 time=82.998 ms
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=5 ttl=244 time=84.202 ms
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=6 ttl=244 time=86.987 ms
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=7 ttl=244 time=84.079 ms
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=8 ttl=244 time=83.432 ms
64 bytes from 216.52.241.254: icmp_seq=9 ttl=244 time=82.219 ms

--- 216.52.241.254 ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 10 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 81.737/83.379/86.987/1.444 ms
[/CODE]


i have different pings for the two different ip addresses, are they in the same place?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Boompje

Senior Wrenchmen

07-12-2011

Quote:
YSfighter:
Cool Cause we were honestly wondering how we could get across to this team where ever they may be. Cause we have pretty extensive reports that they can benefit from instead of just patching us randomly each patch. I mean they has to be some team since we do receive patches


Well.. patching the Mac client isn't difficult.. it is a Cider wrap remember... We get exactly the same patch as Windowns users get. Therefor it is even possible to replace a Windowns rads folder with your Mac's rads folder


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

FingeredDander

Senior Member

07-12-2011

Quote:
Capo Ferro:
This depends very heavily on where you are in the world. The game servers you connect to can be one of a number of different places in the world, generally as close to you as we can manage. The server posted at the beginning of the thread that you are pinging is not necessarily the one you will be connected to when you play the game.


Uhuh. I'm in Australia and am very lucky to get below 200 during a game. It's a little depressing, but it works which is allllll i'm worried about.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Velkorious

Senior Member

07-12-2011

Quote:
Capo Ferro:
As far as I know, there currently isn't one. I'm not sure who all used to work on it, either (I'm new, remember :P ), but I'd be interested to find out. I'll poke around a bit.

Udyr was the main mac red in the past. Possibly Rabid Llama was involved, since his preferences file is in the mac client for some reason.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

YSfighter

Senior Member

07-12-2011

Hmmmm ok i have a ping of average between 240 - 290. Oh well. Playable.