Noetherian's Guide for COMPLETE NOOBS

12345 ... 6
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Noetherian

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

09-05-2009

Preamble:

I've been playing PC games for about 25 years, starting with Zork (the Great Underground Empire). I've played mostly turn-based strategy games (Civ, Master of Orion, Dominions) and Role-playing games (Bard's Tale, Might and Magic, City of Heroes). My only experience with multi-player is playing with a small group of friends against the computer (I've never done competitive gaming against other players).

In any case, I wanted to try playing a different type of game, and so I pre-ordered this game knowing very little about DOTA (Defense of the Ancients) and absolutely nothing about MOBA (Multi-player Battle Arena). In my first evening of play, I got a LOT of useful information from those in the community who are helpful, and I wanted to collect that information in one place. Basically, if you're going to make a tutorial, or a guide for really clueless players (like me), then this is the kind of stuff it should contain.

Note: Corrections and Suggestions Welcomed!

---------------------------------------------------------

Setting Up a Practice Game:

When you first boot League of Legends, you're presented with a PvP.net window. This screen allows you to join games, make friends, chat with other players, and manage your summoner. Making friends and joining games are probably the most important, so we'll cover those first.