Unskilled Player

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

odessa

04-07-2011

Hey, so I got some of my friends to start playing, and they are having a lot of fun. But... they are pretty bad, being new and all. I think they've reached the point where they are tired of playing against bots and want to start playing normal games. And one of them was involved in a game where another player was encouraging the other players to report him for being an Unskilled Player. I don't think the other players did, as my friend explained that he was new and that was his first real PvP game. But I'm worried about the rest of my friends getting reported and possibly banned. When I started playing this game, I was completely awful, but the reporting system wasn't around.

Can someone clarify what constitutes a worthy ban for an Unskilled Player? Are there measures to ensure that new players aren't banned? I'd hate to see my friends get banned and hate the game.

Panzerfaust

Emissary of the League

04-07-2011

The 'unskilled player' option is used solely for Riot to try to improve Matchmaking. There will never be a penalty for being 'unskilled.'

Kawako

04-07-2011

Yeah this post comes up all the time since they added it, it's because the matchmaking system sometimes likes to put lower ranking and lower level players in against better ranked and leveled players which really ruins the fun of a game when you get steam rolled. So by reporting players for not being so good lets riot fine tune the matchmaking more so it happens less.

You won't get banned I see different riot staff post about this all the time.

Wbs

04-07-2011