Question About Caitlyn

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

GoSu sAviOr

04-06-2011

Hey everyone,

I've just recently started to play Caitlyn and I had a few questions about her runes.

I've been mostly sticking to the guide I've found here:

http://www.mobafire.com/league-of-le...th-guide-52122

However, as a new player I have trouble justifying some of these rune choices. Obviously, this could just be because I'm new to the game and I'm still learning how everything works, but I figured I'd ask anyways to understand why exactly I'm doing what I'm doing.

Armor Penetration Runes (Red/Quints): I agree completely with using these runes. I have all my red slots and quint's filled with them.

MP5/s per level (Yellow): I somewhat understand this choice. You wanna be spamming Q as much as possible early game to score multiple last hits and for harassing other champions in your lane. Mana regeneration definitely helps you do this, but it seems like it would be a complete waste in the late game because Q becomes drastically less useful. It's primarily used as a poke against champion's in team fights, and outside of that it's mostly used to 1 shot lanes of creep's, which isn't very mana intensive. So I guess the question is basically if it's worth it to invest so many runes into fixing a problem that's only present in the early game.

Just to give you an idea I used to play Ashe for a ranged carry. In the case of Ashe I think the MP/5 is much more justifiable because mana is an issue the entire match due to how frequently your spamming volley, not to mention her ultimate.