Why kill the baron?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Gl1tch

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

03-20-2011

I must admit, I'm rather new to League of Legends. I'm only at 50 games or so, and this is my first post on the forums. I try to keep an open mind, and consider that other players have a better grasp on strategy than I do. But I just played a more baffling game than I thought possible.

There were five of us. Soraka (me), Cho'gath, Shaco, Fiddlesticks, and Rhys. And we were crushing. Cho'gath was at 5k health, Shaco and Fiddlesticks were both at 16 deaths and 3 deaths (or somewhere around that), Rhys was... relatively worse, and I was at 18 assists, 0 deaths, and a load of items I cannot remember the names of. I was spewing heal spells every five seconds, and I think it was an incredible game. As a team, we were at 63 kills, and 33 deaths.

However, we lost.

While we were dominating in the jungle, we were losing in the lanes. We could kill the other team, sure, but while we were doing so, someone (usually Teemo), would scurry down and take out a turret. By the end of the game, they'd taken out two of our inhibitors, and we lost when super-minions over-ran our base. I didn't think losing was possible, considering our massive lead. In fact, several members of our team were... angry... to say the least.

Both my team, and theirs, agreed we should have killed the baron.