Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS

New Player Asking for Guidance

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

BiggBoyWhite

09-10-2014

Hey all,

I recently was convinced by my cousin to delve in to the dark hole that is League of Legends. He created a smurf account to play with me and teach me this game. I'm currently level 9 at the moment. I'm a full time college student and work part time. That coupled with other aspects of my life have left me only finding time to play a game or two with my cousin only once or twice a week.

I've found that when I play without him and have to make decisions completely on my own (he typically constantly coaches me throughout the game) I perform much worse than I do with him coaching me.

My three biggest struggles are map awareness, knowing when to leave my lane and help out a teammate, and CS. I feel most comfortable playing top lane, but I have had some success playing mid here and there.

Is there any advice that you guys can give me to get better? I really enjoy playing this game, and while I never get frustrated by people raging at me, its more fun to win a good game and have a good score (basically more kills than deaths at this point in my LoL experience) than to be utterly terrible and have some pre-pubescent kid tell me I'm a nub who should kill himself and he did dirty things to my mother.

Other notes:

I typically have the most success with Jax top and Rhyze mid, but I also have unlocked Annie, Ashe, Teemo, Warwick, Master Yi, and Garen. I would like to get a feel for other roles and improve my skill there as well.