Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS

Granrok's Guide to Noobies

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Granrok

01-16-2010

I haven't played this game long, and thus I am not an expert. That said I can provide you noobies with a bit of advice from a perspective almost as fresh as your own to the game. This may sound counter productive but I have found that often times in gaming when asking an expert for advice they are now so advanced at the game that they cannot offer anything beyond really in depth tactics or they simply don't have time for you. So here we go.

1) DON'T DIE - You will hear lots of people say this, and frankly it seems so obvious as to border on insulting, but seriously, DON'T DIE. Every single time you do you help the enemy. There are instances where your death MIGHT help your team more, but you are too new to recognize those, so as a rule of thumb, just don't.

(John Cataldo!)
If you will definitely die trying to kill someone, even if you believe you will definitely kill them, RUN AWAY if you can live that way.

This is doubly true for new players. Assume the enemy has a trick! Assume enemy's buddies are right around the corner! They might have Summoner Heal, Cleanse, or Flash. They might have popped a health potion that will barely save them. Perhaps their Banshee's Veil is about to protect them again. Maybe enemy Ashe, nowhere near the fight, has an ultimate arrow coming from across the map.

Unless you are pretty sure that YOU WILL LIVE and that the enemy will die, chasing for kills is wrong most of the time.