Rammus Tank Runes

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Whelk

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

01-24-2011

Speaks for itself. I'm new to Rammus tanking and frankly I could use all the help I can get. I've read myriad guides, and all have their own opinions on the subject, so I thought I'd see what you all think.

1. What runes do you use on a non-jungle tank Rammus?
2. What tips can you give to a brand new Rammus, just out of the gate?
3. Thank you for even looking, much appreciated!

SomniumProxy

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

01-24-2011

note: we're talking about the non-jungle rammus:

Generally I play rammus with my favourite tank set, being health quints and all other runes in mana/level.

While this is a rather unusual and unpopular choice, here's the logic behind it, and you can decide for yourself: Generally tanks have a low mana pool (rammus being a primary example). On the other hand, all tanks have spells with quite powerful effects. Powerball, taunt, defencive ball for rammus - they can all save your life, or your friends'. So after many games and observation I noticed that most of my deaths as tanks (rammus, malphite, singed, amumu..) were when I was simply oom. So I followed the logical solution - baught the mana/level set, which gives a total of 600 mana at lvl 18 btw - and it workes out perfectly.

In addition to simply having more mana, it also has these advantages:
-the mana gained from leveling up is added both to your maximum and current mana, resulting in an effective replenish, as a mini-catalyst. It's quite noticeable, gaining 60 mana/level instantly lets you cast a new spell. (60 being your natural mana gain + the runes).

-picking up the strengh of spirit mastery gives you some pretty good health regeneration. 600 mana is converted into 1,8 hp/sec, or 8 health per 5. Not increadible, but it really helps the laning phase.