How Hard is Orianna to Play?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

GodKingBill

10-05-2013

Hi! I'm relatively new to the game, but I think I want to start learning a champion that isn't the easiest to play, but is rewarding if I stick with it. I've heard that Orianna is hard to play, but amazing if you can play her well. Can anyone tell me about how long it would take to learn how to play her? Any tips on how to play as Orianna would also be appreciated.

Damned Scholar

10-05-2013

Nobody can tell you how long it will take to learn to play her, because your play style might mesh with her really well or you might not get along at all. I like her a lot, though I feel like you have to pretend that you're controlling two characters when it comes to positioning. Proper placement of the Ball is important to success as Orianna. Unlike a lot of mages, you also have to be highly in-tune with what the other members of your team are doing (this applies to everyone in team games, but especially Orianna). Orianna works best when she can use Command: Protect to shield an ally and have the ally dive into the enemy team so that Ori can use Shockwave and Dissonance in combination. When executed properly, that usually ends up leaving two or three opponents dead or very weak. The fact that the Ball is so powerful also lets you bully your enemies without putting Orianna in harm's way. Orianna is exceptional at playing defense and pretty darn good at offense (though not as good as some mages), so she has a very safe laning phase.