Teemo Toplane: AD or AP?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

MrSc0tty

09-12-2013

No, this is not a total noob thread. I realize that AP Teemo is vastly superior in most team situations, since he's a bit burstier and shrooms can hurt teamfights.

But recently I picked him up toplane versus a Tryndamere. Went Exhaust/Barrier for summoners, as their jungle was Udyr and I wasn't terribly worried about getting locked down by his cc. Played total farm denial against tryn, reserving the blind dart for when he went all in, and avoided two ganks from Udyr early to secure a lane win by a huge farm advantage and a turret.

Now I knew that at this point, what Tryn really wanted me to do was leave. Help another lane, so he can split push forever against me. But I decided I wanted to try something different. Bought a **** ton of wards, and used them and my shrooms to absolutely riddle the enemy jungle on my side, and proceeded to split push against the under farmed tryn. Just like in lane, he couldn't build up fury, so he couldnt all in me, and with the AD build not only was I more effective against turrets I seemed to do better damage to Tryndamere, which made sense as I was giving up the damage from my shrooms.

Eventually pulled both the jungler and the mid into a merry chase through Teemo's Funderland (their jungle) and in that time my team claimed both of the other inner turrets.

So, with proper forward planning, Teemo can out split push the split pusher. My question is: was this a fluke? If I switched to flash so I could pull a wall jump+Teemo passive juke would it work with a scarier enemy jungler? And if so, was I right to go for an AD build for maximum personal/squirrel based damage or should I do the usual autoattack AP build?

ShinRaigeki

09-12-2013

AD Teemo still gains all the damage AP does, BUT, he gains it with better scaling. He gets better AS Scaling, better piercing scaling, and thanks to lifesteal, better sustain.