Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS

i'm no pro but... (long read)

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

restlessraccoon

11-27-2010

there are some basic rules every level 20+ should know; they are fairly simple.

1) builds change according to your enemy.
2) team comp wins games.
3) spending a little gold on some mitigation, even if you are the carry, WILL win you the game
4) baron =/= immortality
5) dragon whenever its up if possible
6) after the 15 minute mark stick together as a team
7) focusing the tank = /sadface
8) ward your map
9) last hitting creeps
10) harassing

i'm putting this up here because it seems that every game there is a problem with one of these things on either my or the enemy team and i feel like stating them once more might help those trying to get better at, or new to, the game.

let me explain each a little more...

1) ITEM BUILDS ARE NOT SET IN STONE
in this game the purpose of items is not to make you stronger, but to make you more effective against your enemy and they should revolve around both his and your character.
"but i went 10/1/3 with my last build! it must be uber pro!"
no, its not... there is no PRO build.
there are items that are crucial for certain champs, and those you should always get (ashe with infinity, mundo and spirit visage, etc.) but there is no SET build for a character that will guarantee you a win.
next game instead of following that set build you have buy the two most crucial items for the champ you are playing and then i want you to build up 1000 gold, go to the shop and think what your next item should be.