Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS

So does anyone remember the LoL API?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

azuresky808

04-26-2013

It would be hard to remember since it was originally posted on the EU forums a few months back but I recall seeing some red posts about having a developer API for league. I was, and still am, really looking forward to getting this I am a developer myself and have some cool projects I wanted to do involving this.

As of right now any developer is limited to either elophant.com's API, which is generated by crawlers and LoLking.com which is done the same way. Personally this is a terrible way to gather data as it only gives a rather small and limited view into what we can potentially get in terms of data.

I guess what I am mostly concerned with is that as developers we lack the tools to make really stunning sites and as players we look at what we do have and can potentially be misled by a lack of information. So because of this it would be nice to know if the API is still in the works and what is its status.

TL;DR: API's are cool, so what is the deal with LoL's API they talked about months ago.

LeviTheDegu

04-26-2013

The post you're talking about is
http://euw.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?p=9439958

where it was stated they are working on it. I hope they are. I can understand how taxing it may be on a server, but I think it'll help extend the game and produce more advertising for it which could allow it to take the lead back from DOTA.

I wish we could get a status update and/or cancellation notice :\

Damiya