Nunu vs The Yetis (Origin of Nunu)

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

pr0n0un

04-08-2013

This is my first attempt at fiction and it's more of a literary exercise than anything else, so any criticism is welcome. Actually, please criticize it, I need help, haha.

Nunu

The frost wind howled past the mouth of the snowy mountain cave. Nunu curled into a ball, his hands in his armpits, flexing every muscle in his body in a slow rhythm to generate heat. Hopefully the cold would kill him before anything else would. Unless his father returned of course, but he was beginning to lose hope- it had been three days already.

The sound of the wind suddenly changed and Nunu realized something had entered the cave, something big, much too big to be his father. He peered out from under his hood with the one eye that was exposed to the biting frost. He saw the immense figure outlined by the light of the cave opening coming towards him. It was a huge creature in the shape of a man but much larger, covered with white fur- a yeti. All Nunu could do was lie still and wait for the right moment.

“Willump! Come!” Kralump bellowed. Willump entered the cave, this yeti younger and smaller than Kralump. The old yeti motioned over to the mound of snow, steam rising from it. Willump plunged his fist into the snow and pulled Nunu out. Nunu’s body limp, his head rolled around to gaze at the yeti.

“Kill it,” the old yeti commanded.

“Is it still alive?”

“It’s a human, just consume it and put it out of it’s misery.”

The young yeti dangled Nunu over his gaping jaws. Nunu raised his hand towards the beast, who paused and frowned at the tiny swirls of snowflakes and blue light charging in the child’s fist. A blast of ice hit the yeti point blank in the face. Nunu fell into the snow, preparing another ice blast, as the young yeti rolled back from the impact.

“He knocked your fang loose Willump!” the old Yeti chuckled.