Scared of Solo Queue

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Best Jayce Ult

04-02-2013

So I started playing solo queue towards the end of Season 2 and I got up to ~1400 ELO. Back then I wouldn't ever fill, I'd just play Jayce and nothing but him. After the new League system came out, I was put in Silver Divison 3 and I was able to get up to my promotion series 4 times but I was unsuccessful at advancing.

I decided to take a break from solo queue for a bit and just play normal draft/blind. When I returned to solo queue I just felt nervous playing games and I would choke and make mistakes. I was recently demoted to Silver IV and lost the remaining points I had, so I am now sitting in Silver IV at 0 points facing another demotion.

I don't know how to overcome the fear of solo queue that I have, I know I can't win games like this. I always prefer a solo lane and if I am unable to get it then I like to jungle rather than support or ADC since they are my weakest roles. I am always scared in the lobby that I will get stuck with a role that I can't excel with. It is easy enough to say "talk to you team, tell them you'd prefer a solo lane" but communication between the teams that I get is normally very minimal in my division (from what I've experienced).

I have talked to some higher tier players about this issue and they told me that I should try to get the lane that I want since I am more comfortable with it. I agree with this 100% its just the fear of playing a role I'm uncomfortable with and potentially losing or getting demoted. How can I overcome this? I feel fine playing draft and blind normals but I choke in ranked...

Sorry for the long post! Thank you for reading

PikaRioCed

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

04-02-2013

Try your best to communicate.
Embrace losing; pros lose all the time.
Don't worry if you fall a division, you move up and down. Just think of it as more opportunities to practice.