Mathematical Analysis of Karma in Relation to Other Support Mages

12345 ... 6
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Endominus

03-31-2013

The rework of Karma was, according to Riot, an attempt to make her a viable support mage along the veins of Morgana, Zilean, or Lux. I'll be honest here; I'm not very good at LoL, but I'm decent at math, so I decided to take a mathematical look at her abilities in comparison with Morgana and Lux (not Zilean because I really don't know if he's a comparable character).

I had to make some assumptions vis-a-vis itemization and runes/masteries. Namely, I assumed no runes or masteries, and tried to abstract out the items as much as possible. I assume (at least, initially) that every ability will cause maximum damage; that is to say, skillshots will hit, DoTs will damage over their entire time, etc. I also assume that the champion is in a solo lane. Their utilities are varied enough that the relative worth is much more dependent on the team than the direct values. I used 1v1 to calculate the damage; these champions all have muti-target abilities, but these are quite tricky to accurately assess, so I won't try. I am using damage and AP scaling numbers from http://leagueoflegends.wikia.com. Any other assumptions I make are listed below.

Without further ado;
Karma's Burst: Using the spirit link to tether and snare, she unleashes a mantra'd soulflare.
She is maxing Q first, W second. She puts one point in her shield and maxes it last.
Level 1; 135 + 1.5*AP
Level 6; 495+2.1*AP
Level 11; 945+2.1*AP
Level 16; 1045+2.1*AP

Morgana's Burst: Tormented Soil into Snare into Ult
I don't know how to build Morg, so I'm assuming max soil first. I'll adjust the figures if someone chimes in. I'm not accounting for the Magic Resistance debuff offered by her soil because I don't feel like doing integrals right now and I don't know the MR formula.
Level 1; 125 + AP
Level 6; 705 + 3.3*AP
Level 11; 1115 + 3.3*AP
Level 16; 1375 + 3.3*AP