LoL needs a role-based queue for efficiency and player behavior (statistical review!)

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

CitizenBeta

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

03-29-2013

My goal for this post is to demonstrate, using statistics, that a role-based queue will:

1. Solve ranked League of Legends ladder inefficiencies (aka ďElo HellĒ)
2. Reduce the quantity of in-game Summonerís Code Violations
3. Be more fun for players

I started playing a lot of ranked games about three months ago. I felt, like many others, that I was winning and losing games in a way that was not reflective of my own performance in the game. Iíve read a lot of opinions about ďElo hellĒ, how to avoid it, how to get past it, etc. This is summation of the advice I found:

1. Have a good attitude
2. Fill roles
3. Dominate your role (thereís no pros stuck in Elo Hell, right?)

Cool. Sounds good. I tried that and I felt like that helped, but do I really have to play like a pro to get out of silver league? Should someone have to play at a plat level to be in gold? Doesnít that sound inefficient to you? But was it? How could I know for sure?
How about some math?

I decided to start collecting statistics. The rules of my experiment were:

1. Have a good attitude and always follow the summonerís code
2. Fill roles (never be the cause of a role dispute)
3. No dodging for any reason. If someone else dodges, it doesnít count.
4. Record the win or loss, whether there was a duplicate role called in champ select, whether there was a dispute over a role in champ select, and whether there were in-game summonerís code violations.

And so I played and recorded 45 solo-queue ranked 5v5 games of League of Legends. My overall win-loss ratio was 25-20. Not bad. After so many games, it didnít really feel role calls had any effect. The math, however, had a different story to tell:

Win Loss Ratio

1. Win-Loss Ratio (total): 25-20 (56% win rate)