"Anchor" champions?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Ardeaf

10-21-2010

I'm pretty new to the lol scene, but I'm not new to the genre. I'm curious who you guys think the best anchor champions are? For example an anchor champion would be one that could maintain good control in team fights and in good hands will lead the team to victory by pushing, keeping control of the map, and initiating on the enemy team when they are vulnerable.

In my limited playtime I have decided two of such champions are ashe and anivia. They both have very good pokes, initiation, control, and pushing abilities. do you guys think there are any better heroes?

I wonder this because in dota as well as hon (1800 psr) I was able to solo "carry" with heroes like potm, valkyrie, magmus, clockwork, behemoth, etc. by acting as a team leader of sorts. I often did not get an extremely high kdr, however acting as the anchor allowed my team to win a lot. For those of you who played wow arena, this would be akin to the disc priest in a pmr team setup.

The reason I ask is because the mentality that you have to pick roles your team doesn't have is not enough; there are certain tank heroes that are better at the aforementioned qualities of an anchor than other tank heroes

tl;dr what champions can carry teams to victory effectively (no gimmicks)by asserting control over the entire game (skill is not an issue)?

PsychopathicBear

10-21-2010

So you're looking for a solid hardcarry?

Eph289

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

10-21-2010

Galio.

Good control in teamfights? Check.

Pushing? Check. Galio is a beast at farming.

Poking/Harassment. Check. Galio has better poke than any other true tank unless you consider Gragas a tank. Galio can take off half a squishy's health with 2 well-placed spells. He dual-lanes and solo-lanes very well.