Orianna vs Ziggs? Help?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

yugdaBretsiM

01-09-2013

Hey everyone.

So, for the most part, I play predominantly support. I'm still relatively new to the game all things considered and my laning skills in solo lanes are a bit below the curve honestly. Every once and a while support will get called, or there won't be a mid, so in those cases I usually go mid with Orianna, and do alright for the most part (read: I don't usually lose my lane,) but this one matchup keeps making me pull my hair out.

I have no idea what to do about Ziggs at mid lane. His pokes are phenominal and he controls a massive amount of space. It just seems like I can't get close enough to throw out the ball to harass or poke, which hurts my CS way too much.

For the most part, I can dodge his bomb roll (Q I think?) pretty consistantly, at first, but as the levels rise, he just becomes more and more unmanageble, as minefields start cutting off my movement and fear of his ult threatens me out of lane much sooner than I would normally like to.

Is this just a bad matchup in general, or am I missing something here? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

420 LOL 69

01-09-2013

Ziggs is more mana hungry than you, but he outranges you. I play a LOT of both Ziggs and Orianna, so here's some advice I'd give:

1) Don't stand near your minions. This is probably the most important thing for playing Ziggs. It is a LOT harder for him to hit bombs if you're not near your minions, and he doesn't have enough mana early game to both harass you with bombs and cs with long range bombs.

2) Counter push - if he is using bombs to push the lane, use your q + w to push back (you should be maxing w first, not q!). He will go OOM faster than you if he's constantly spamming bombs on minions.