"Differences between LoL and DotA"

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Grandjester

10-13-2010

Bored, so looking around the LoL site. I came across the DotA/LoL comparison page that I haven't seen for a while, first saw it around the time I started playing LoL I think. Anyway, I found it kinda amusing.

"League of Legends is more aggressive"
Uh...huh. Farming until late game and then waiting for a mistake to be made to start a team fight and win isn't really that aggressive. DotA was about ganking and you could even viably roam around the map from level 1 as heroes like venge, so that's a bit off.

"League of Legends is more active"
Stop that.

"League of Legends is less random"
In some areas, perhaps. There's no bash or whatnot, that's true. However crit is a base stat, as is dodge, and those are constantly providing random elements.

"League of Legends has brush"
Okay now we're talking sense. That's an obvious difference.

"League of Legends is even more of a team game"
I'd probably agree with this, though I wouldn't agree that this is a point in the game's favour.

"League of Legends has a persistant metagame called the Summoner System"
Alright that's a good thing to point out. I like the summoner system. Though the cost of runes is slightly ridiculous.

Anyway just wanted to note how this looked to me. Enjoy your flaming.

r431

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

10-13-2010

League of Legend is more ganking oriented than DotA.

Even as Hard Carries like Tristana, you have to gank around in order to excel late game.

On the flipside, DotA is more about protecting your carries at all cost, or just make noise somewhere so your carries can farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm farm and facerape 1 vs 5 after 40 minutes...