ArP Runes > All?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Apolloco

10-12-2010

Hey guys, I've seen people always run ArP instead of lets say crit dmg/atk speed as in marks/quints. Maybe you can win early game and not have enough for a Phantom Dancer/IE for the crit dmg/atk speed runes to be used really well so does ArP generally be the best for both marks+quints? Also, if anybody could share, what kind of seals/glyphs would you run on lets say trist/ashe/yi?

Edit: while looking at some good players rune pages they seem to get movement speed quints? is 1.5% movement speed much better than 3.91 armor pen for quints?

Kroghar

10-12-2010

I'm by no means a pro, but I've seen the list someone did with all the numbers. He pretty much broke it down which runes give you the best bang for the buck. Since every champ has a certain amount of Armor and Magic Resist, Armor Pen and Magic Pen give you a straight damage boost extremely early, and it's much more dependable than crit damage.

There are exceptions to everything though, certain champs with certain builds can run different runes. Like Crit Chance on Tryndamere for example, or Akali pretty much requires her own complete rune page to play effectively.

As for Quints, seems like 80% of people go with straight health quints for the early game survivability, some people prefer the Movement Speed, both are great options. Again there are exceptions, seen Akali go Damage Quints to get her passive to proc for early game jungling, or Crit Percentage Quints on Tryn sometimes Mundo.

In most cases I think people tend to get Runes that will benefit the most champs at once, unless they've been playing since beta and actually have tons of rune pages and full sets of every rune.

JoeDuo

10-12-2010

Armor Pen Marks are the most effective runes by far.
You should always pick them unless:
1. The vast majority of your damage is magical.