Champion Creation Process Stuffs

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Pigger

10-07-2010

I suppose this may have been discussed many times before, and probably more reasonably explained in bits and pieces scattered about the forums, but I'm rather curious how exactly champions come about. I can't claim that I was a top hero designer for DotA or that I secrete gold whenever I cry, but back in my WC3 gaming days I was apart of a close group of friends who played and helped spew out ideas for development of a AoS game called Desert of Exile. What drew me to that game was the immense thought put into ever hero/champion before any programming was attempted.

I can't compare games, as LoL, DotA and DoE are all different, but I'm quite curious as to what goes into planning a champion. I've never quite felt that many of the champions in LoL hold much synergy between abilities. Sure, someone can argue points, such as Sion with his stun -> bubble combo, but that isn't really synergy, its just two abilities. A few weeks back I had a thread asking people who thought the best designed champions were, and I'm not even 100% sure any of them have perfect synergy. I feel Ryze is the best example, but even he falls short because everything merely rests on his passive, everything else is just another ability to cast that aids in an outcome (dead champion).