@Riot Something I don't understand about pricing/skins

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

NinjaSoxs

11-14-2012

Since I started playing a couple of months ago I have spent a good amount of cash on RP. I have no problem with this. After I realized I wanted to devote time playing this game I bought a champion pack, rune pages (during the two for one sale), some champions that I played during the free rotation that I enjoyed and a few skins for them when I saw them on sale.

Something I don't understand (as a business owner myself), is why would a skin cost as much as an entirely new champion. Does changing the look of an existing champion justify the same price as creating a new champion, with it's original art/skin, creating new abilities, development and design costs, creating and rendering entirely new particles from scratch, play-testing and balancing costs, etc?

To me (working in video) it is comparable to charging the same price for a 3 minute promo shot as I would for a 20 minute documentary. My clients would, understandably, not tolerate such an obvious discrepancy. Is there a reason I am missing?

Fortunately I have extra income and I have no qualms about supporting a company which makes a great game. I believe I buy at least $10 of RP every other week after an initial $75 spent, while I expand my champion pool (my goal is to play on a competitive level, hopefully finding a casual but competitive team). For rented content that may be removed at any time for any reason (or taken away by a suspect tribunal system), Riot; you are asking me to put a lot on faith here. Why is it justified?

This is not a troll post. Nor am I bitter or angry, I am hoping for an actual discussion so I may make an informed decision as to whether or not I will continue to spend hard earned money on this game or simply enjoy the content I have already unlocked.

Thank you for your time.

GON the Mage Guy

11-14-2012