How to teach and how to learn

First Riot Post
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kaalika

11-09-2012

"I like to help new players"

I started playing over a month ago now, and in that time have met a lot of people who claimed to like to help new players learn the game.

Some were decent teachers, a lot weren't nice people at all.

1. If your teacher takes you in 1v1 and just destroys you, what does it teach you? You already know you're new and don't know everything. It's not teaching, it's just giving them a free ego boost for destroying a newbie. People who do this aren't teachers, they're trolls.

It's different if they take you in 1v1 and just observe, then you both leave without the game being won or lost by anyone (you can both leave a custom without it being a "leave" on record). Or if they take you 2v2 on your side against bots and show you then observe then show you.

I refuse to do 1v1 against teachers now, because of those people, because I don't trust anyone to play against me while I'm still new and don't have a chance against someone more experienced.

2. If your teacher does a game with other students or friends, invites you, and balances the teams horribly (say, 2 lower levels vs two higher levels), what does it teach you? This can be done as a learning aid or it can be done in a nasty way.

This happened to me with the first person who claimed to be a teacher. His team totally destroyed our team despite my repeatedly stating "I don't think this is balanced guys, we have both the lowbies on one team" and then after when I asked how this benefitted me as a student, he started yelling at me and calling me names on vent. He went around telling everyone that I was a sore loser, and encouraged others to troll me as well. It wasn't about losing, it was about the way he betrayed my trust after claiming he was there to help me. He also claimed that I agreed the teams were balanced, when I had repeatedly stated the opposite.