The Most Important Thing One Can Do: A Guide to Self Preservation

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

KTM90

11-05-2012

THE MOST IMPORTANT THING ONE CAN DO IS AVOID DEATH.
See end for definitions. Key points and summaries are bold and italic.

At first I thought maybe I just sucked and I started playing a lot of intermediate bot games, but I realized it's not my fault at all. I'm getting quite aggravated because it seems like everyone I am matched with is taking all of the fun out of this game. How are they doing this? They recklessly charge in and then get killed, literally, meaning without any exaggeration. There have not been many cases where the other team genuinely had more skill; they just get fed lots of kills and then their advantage is too large to combat. You'll hear this over and over in every guide to play this game that you read, but that's because it is important:

It is vital to you and your team's success to not die. Things happen when you die that are not beneficial to you or your team, and it does not really matter if you do get a kill in the process.

Things that happen when you die:
-The killer gets a hefty sum of gold, especially if they ended a killing spree.
-If someone assisted them they will also get a lot of gold.
-If you have a laning partner then they now have to deal with both enemies alone.
-If you do not have a laning partner then your lane is easy to push.
-Especially because you will have to wait a set amount of time before you respawn.
-You will fall behind in gold and experience earned every moment that you are not in your lane.

Q&A:
If I finish them off doesn't that mean I get gold for me and my laning partner?