In Depth THEORY on pros and cons of ganking.

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Moby the White

11-03-2012

So first of all let me just say that this is a theory of mine. Which holds no value whatsoever to the game, does not change how you should play the game in any shape way or form but merely suggests looking at a concept with some more perspective.

So please do not call my idea trash or me trash without first realizing that this is a conceptual idea based purely on my opinion, and even if it holds no value whatsoever because I am not a pro player or above X elo that I still believe it and think it makes sense.

Second of all this post is long, very long, so I beg you have patience and read it all or just not and ignore it...

The concept as the title suggests is ganking.
Now ganking in game can be looked at from the ganker's point of view, the gankee's point of view, and the laner's point of view. I will address these roles shortly.

Thesis: Many people feel that ganking is one sided this thread will address that issue with some more perspective

Ganking-a term used to imply any number of people arriving to assist your lane through a method quite possibly considered similar to an ambush. Although some ganks are not directly an ambush but merely resort in lane presence. Ganking is not specific to any role but certain roles can benefit and succeed at ganking more often, but in some cases it can become player/champion specific. This definition is subject to change and is under further review.

Now let us look at the ganker's point of view or in better terms the person executing the gank. Observing reasons for a gank would lead us to various causes but allow me to suggest some that I can think of off hand:
1.) Someone in lane requests for a gank
2.) Enemy has overextended and has allowed for an opportunity to be ganked
3.) Ganking in order to counter a current gank.
4.) In order to create lane presence

So what happens when a ganker ganks?