Vote for the latest desire in Ping Technology!

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Edvard Rubeartis

11-01-2012

Problem: Ping spikes in game make players suck regardless of ability or effort.

Attempt at 'peaceful' solution: Create an info bar displayed on the lol client that pre-warns players to possible or probable lag issues.

Ok, so we all know the issue. We have all been in that game where suddenly our ping goes from 30 jumping to 999! I've seen many issues in the game get resolved since I started playing more than half a year ago.

But this problem has persisted. Lets get real. I'm no programer, but I know that making a script that would display the servers ping on the lol client menu and not just in the game would have reduced some of the bad attitude I got for "sucking." Another idea is when you hit PLAY it would show you your current ping so you could then decide whether to continue and commit to the game, or withdraw until it is 'stable.'

I know there is a lot going on, but I feel that the time should be given to solve this issue and not just kick it under the rug. If I am in the vast minority, please end my ignorance and educate me. But regardless, that will not negate the importance of creating a healthy and welcoming gaming experience (which we all want) in all areas of the game. The importance of solving this issue is more important, in my opinion, to creating new characters. ASSASSINS!?!?! HOW MANY DO WE NEED?

...that is completely off-topic, but totally true, >.<

infinite azure

11-02-2012

Agreed, my friends have inconsistant latency, and something like this would be of great help to them

IS16d5da5f8759eedf2de31

11-04-2012

Interesting. Sadly ping/lag spikes are hard to anticipate. Best way to test ping/lag is probably still jumping into a custom game for a few minutes.
Just pinging a server is a little different from getting the actual data packets for a game.

Senescha

11-04-2012