A full look at the potential DFG nerf w/ solutions. (Please read)

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Skunkers

10-18-2012

---
Preface:
I talk about making champions no longer viable. This is an extreme, I know. Some teams will find ways to make them work. However, the strength of many of these champions are severely limited with this update, so the viability can be challenged, not necessarily present or gone.

Also, I'm not a professional gamer nor statistical expert. I'm trying to give my view on the issue.
---
Table of Contents
I. Preview
II. Why DFG was a problem
III. Did it work?
IV. Impact on other champs
V. Impact on the Meta
VI. Proposed solution

---
I. Statistics Preview
---

Deathfire's Grasp (Pre-Nerf):
+80 AP
+15% Cooldown Reduction
+Active 20% (+5% per 100 AP) targeted damage

Deathfire's Grasp (Proposed-Nerf):
+80 AP
+Active 15% (+4% per 100 AP) targeted damage
CDR removed

---
II. Why DFG was a problem
---

I saw absolutely no issue with DFG before the swarm of AP Evelynn mid. Once she became an all-elo permaban, however, Riot was left with a decision: what should be done about her?

Riot did well with this set of updates. Rengar, Ezreal, Sona, Jayce, and Evelynn are all receiving balancing updates (as well as some others that aren't as prominent). I do not believe a single one of these kit/stat changes will make these champions no longer viable (while there are changes I'd make, I won't discuss those here).