Help me understand the character classes!

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Snake2150

09-19-2012

I have been playing LoL on and off for a couple of years or year? Anyways a group of friends wanted me to play. I knew and played one match of DOTA back in the day and disliked it. I played a number of games with Demigod and also did not wake up every morning wanting to play. Though I tried LoL anyways to see if it was any different it hasnt really seemed so but I have slogged my way through and got to level 30 and wanted to try ranked. As I was going to try ranked I noticed it was draft pick not blind pick. So I decided to then try draft pick on normal because then I might not be so much of a hindrance to someone who really wants to play LoL.

So I launch and watch to my intrigue a new way of picking and setting up. Without thinking I picked Garen as always and locked in. Just a few seconds later I started getting attacked about why I picked Garen when we already had a support. So I tried draft a couple more times this time talking to my team first to see what I should play. Then I noticed that only one person on either side can pick the character. So now out of my element and having just turned 30 and a couple of characters that I didnt really play I listened to my team to pick Jarven IV who was on free rotation. It was a very bad decision...

So I am asking you the community of LoL to educate me on what are the character classes meaning why is Garen (labled Meele/Fighter) = Support? So of the classes I know of there are Junglers, Supports, Tanks, ADC (Im assuming is Attack Dmg Carry?), midders, and toppers.

Also I have a second question what champion is a good replacement if Garen is chosen for Garen? So I can start practicing with them so I may be able to still play as well as I have even if Garen has been chosen.

Thanks for your time,
Snake

Elanorien

09-19-2012