Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS

Lol's lore: A quest for answers

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

MikePeck

09-19-2012

I have always been a major fan of this games lore. The way Riot has managed to create characters of broad spectrum but with great depth I always found to be amazing and inspirational (I am a creative writing graduate). When the announced the end of Champion judgments as well as the end of the JoJ, I had faith that whatever they had planned as a replacement would be equally entertaining.

However, the lore rewrite campaign that seems to be underway has forced my hand. What exactly is going on, lore department? I understand that you want to try and flesh out and fix lore that you felt previously was lacking, but the Warwick/Soraka rewrite is going to have major repercussions in the lore (karma’s judgment goes straight out the door for one). While I can approve of such rewritings for the purpose of crafting a better world (Tolkien rewrote a bit of the Hobbit after realizing that his ideas for LotR required some changes to the original) such changes have to be justifiable (Tolkien’s creating of a much deeper world also included an in-universe explanation that the original form was due to Bilbo lying in his first copy).