@Riot - I want to work for you... am I on the right track?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Xenotime Gaze

08-24-2012

I posted this a while ago, but waited until it was more likely to be seen and therefore more appropriate. Since you're hiring again, I'd say now is the time.

I have long been contemplating applying for at least an internship at Riot, but my self-confidence (which is pretty low in general) and my lack of strong enough work (in my personal opinion) have held me back from considering this option. However, considering my plans for the future, I want to know if the path I have set for myself would allow me to make a strong enough portfolio to be worth of consideration, especially after watching your champion retrospective video.

First off, I am currently an artist about to enter my senior year in college, studying a branch of art known as Visual Communications. In it, we gain skills and knowledge in Typography, Graphic Design, Illustration, and, most importantly, the very design elements and processes which you mentioned in your retrospective video, such as Iteration, Thematic and Conceptual consistency, and working towards a final product that is awesome and unique. It is largely seeing the parallels between your work and my current studies that prompts this post.

In addition to my artistic work (Illustration mostly), I also have planned an independent study focusing on applying the concepts i've learned to game design. Also, last semester I worked on a game design project with one of my professors and the computer science class for our state. The professor has these projects every semester, and I intend to assist in these projects as well. Lastly, even if I am unable to get an internship this coming summer with you all (as I plan to submit my work both in the fall (for the winter) and in the spring (for the summer)), I have the possibility to gain work experience at another company.