Previewing Windows 8? We'd Like Your Feedback!

First Riot Post
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Arminas AnĂ¡rion

Junior Member

11-18-2012

I have only had one error with Windows 8. Whenever I started the client, it would crash. It work when I run as Admin though


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

RaidSlayer

Member

11-20-2012

Windows 8 Pro x64
League of Legends 1.71.12_11_13_11_00

Since the last update my PvP.net client has crashed several times while I navigate profiles mainly, runes, masteries, it happens when I click on a Tab inside the profile section, I get an Adobe AIR Debugger Crash. This never happened before the last patch.

I did not attached a r3dlog since this doesn't happen inside the game, just in the client.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

JJJJJxCHOWWWWW

Junior Member

11-20-2012

Hi,

Ever since I got Win 8, i've been getting lag spikes about every second where I would hit about 700ping every other second making my character teleport around the map. I'm using wireless.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Grognak The Barb

Senior Member

11-21-2012

Whenever I press escape when the chat bar is open, my game freezes and hangs for ~15 seconds, but I am able to regain control after CTRL + ALT + DELETEing to the task manager after a set amount of time.

Also, my game freezes when a nexus explodes.

And no, my computer isn't subpar.

Windows 8, 2.7 hex core, 4gb ram, gtx 550 ti card


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

bountygiver

Member

11-25-2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grognak The Barb View Post
Whenever I press escape when the chat bar is open, my game freezes and hangs for ~15 seconds, but I am able to regain control after CTRL + ALT + DELETEing to the task manager after a set amount of time.

Also, my game freezes when a nexus explodes.

And no, my computer isn't subpar.

Windows 8, 2.7 hex core, 4gb ram, gtx 550 ti card
I actually had this problem with 4 out of 4 different computers, 3 windows 7 and 1 windows 8.
3 of them are fresh install and 1 of them I copy paste files from the other computer.

Seems like it's a LoL client problem and is not OS/hardware/driver related.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

bountygiver

Member

11-25-2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrcreepysmiles View Post
Windows 8 when I install "LOL" I get CRC error. First time downloading I click Ignore and it pops up about 30 times every time I download. I just keep pressing Ignore finally after that it downloads only to let me pick my champion, when it switches screens to full screen it goes black then "BUG SPLAT". I reported them with my name. I don't recall the number of error...... I can't seem to get the game running right PLZ HELP!
You cannot ignore CRC errors, ignoring them will cause you to have invalid game datas and it'll obviously cause a lot of problems. Now do a scan disk to make sure you don't have bad sectors on your drive and run LOL as administrator and click repair in the option, use a wired connection for stable internet.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Slippery52

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Junior Member

11-25-2012

I have tried running as administrator, and running in compatibility mode but when I try to start the LoL installer on windows 8 the application won't even load and eventually throw an error about pando's sight possibly being blocked which isn't true. I have had this problem with carnivores 2 as well. 64 bit version of game would be much appreciated riot!


Just started trying things and I found out that if I copy the league of legends folder from a working computer to my windows 8 computer the game works great!


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Herruhai

Junior Member

11-26-2012

I purchased a new laptop that was loaded with windows 8... So far, really nothing is wrong that I see. I get over 150 fps, never lag, everything works well. Windowed mode can be annoying because of the side bars that pop up, but I really only use Full Screen, and there is no problems. It uses the same platform as Windows 7, so the fault would be Windows 8 glitches on certain computers, nothing wrong with League of Legends.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

RaidSlayer

Member

11-27-2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaidSlayer View Post
Windows 8 Pro x64
League of Legends 1.71.12_11_13_11_00

Since the last update my PvP.net client has crashed several times while I navigate profiles mainly, runes, masteries, it happens when I click on a Tab inside the profile section, I get an Adobe AIR Debugger Crash. This never happened before the last patch.

I did not attached a r3dlog since this doesn't happen inside the game, just in the client.
Well I am back to reply on my own post, about this issue and how I "fixed" it.

I was having the issue mentioned above my client crashing for some adobe air debugger crash, I tried everything I could, I installed adobe air from the adobe website which made no difference since LOL uses adobe air files already preinstalled on the LOL install folder, I still had the same problem with my client crashing.

As a final attempt I checked the version of adobe air on LOL and on the new release by Adobe, LOL uses version 3.1 and Adobe has version 3.5, I replaced the old Adobe files ( most are .dll files ), with the new ones, and that did it, no more crashing.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Rob the Reaper

Junior Member

11-27-2012

Windows 8 is crashing VERY frequently during champ select. I am using the RTM version. I've looked at in Visual Studio, and the crash is at the same line of code. It looks like a bad parameter to a function. The code that is crashing is in air.dll, at 6afd10bb:

6AFD108F int 3
6AFD1090 push ebp
6AFD1091 mov ebp,esp
6AFD1093 sub esp,8
6AFD1096 xor al,al
6AFD1098 mov byte ptr [ebp-1],al
6AFD109B test edi,edi
6AFD109D je 6AFD10D4
6AFD109F push esi
6AFD10A0 mov esi,dword ptr ds:[6AFED028h]
6AFD10A6 lea eax,[ebp-8]
6AFD10A9 push eax
6AFD10AA push 40h
6AFD10AC push 1
6AFD10AE lea ecx,[ebp-1]
6AFD10B1 push ecx
6AFD10B2 mov dword ptr [ebp-8],40h
6AFD10B9 call esi
6AFD10BB mov dl,byte ptr [edi]
6AFD10BD mov ecx,dword ptr [ebp-8]
6AFD10C0 lea eax,[ebp-8]
6AFD10C3 push eax
6AFD10C4 push ecx
6AFD10C5 mov byte ptr [ebp-1],dl
6AFD10C8 push 1
6AFD10CA lea edx,[ebp-1]
6AFD10CD push edx
6AFD10CE call esi
6AFD10D0 mov al,byte ptr [ebp-1]
6AFD10D3 pop esi
6AFD10D4 mov esp,ebp
6AFD10D6 pop ebp
6AFD10D7 ret

The call stack is:

> Air.dll!6afd10bb()
[Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for Air.dll]
Air.dll!6afd436b()
Adobe AIR.dll!6a12eb12()
Adobe AIR.dll!6a12f893()
Adobe AIR.dll!69d80506()
Adobe AIR.dll!69ea4aec()
Adobe AIR.dll!69db13d5()
Adobe AIR.dll!6a4b9173()
KernelBase.dll!76c4db02()
KernelBase.dll!76c53491()
Adobe AIR.dll!6a4b932a()
LolClient.exe!002519c6()
LolClient.exe!002519ef()
LolClient.exe!00251b1a()
kernel32.dll!76688543()
ntdll.dll!7708ac69()
ntdll.dll!7708ac3c()

This happens a lot. If there are symbol/pdb files for the air.dll, let me know how I can get them and I can probably help you quickly get to the bottom of this.

Rob