Is Brand viable?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

TheSwagnificence

08-11-2012

I've been playing League for around 2 months, and I would say my best character is Brand. He has good wave clearing ability with his W early, and, especially late game, can take a champion down in a surprisingly fast time.

However, when I look at tournaments, and see forum posts, I generally see no mention of Brand as a competitive champion. It's usually Morgana, Ahri, Karthus, Cassiopeia, and Ryze being chosen as a team's mid.

Why? Is he too mana-hungry, too squishy, or is it simply that he needs two abilities to do any crowd control? Brand seems too bursty and too good at wave clearing and harass with his W to not be considered a good mage.

*NOTE* This is my opinion, please refute it with an actual constructed argument.

Amaltron

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

08-11-2012

Yes. Brand is viable.

TeknoWizard

08-11-2012

If you do well with him, then why would it matter if he's viable in other's eyes? Play what you're good at.

Treza

08-11-2012

i think the main difference between the 5 champions you named and brand is that brand has very little utility where as those 5 each have atleast a bit. ahri has her dashes and her charm to initiate, morgana has her ult which wins team fights by itself, good spellvamp to sustain lane, one of the best shields in the game, and the great initiation in dark binding. karthus has a wall that gives sight and a huge slow, we all know how good his ult can be, and he can get out of control in team fights very easily. cassiopeia and ryze while both having less utility than the other 3, also have very high damage and 2 very reliable stun/snares of their own. brand doesnt really have anything except spam casting for damage.. he can poke for a fair bit but he cant really "initiate" like those other 5

ahri charm
ryze snare
karth wall
morg ult/binding
cass madusa eyes to the face