Wukong vs Pantheon (Solo Top)

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

I Dunk Your Mom

07-15-2012

Hey, I am wondering if I could some feedback from some experienced WuKong players on the Wukong vs Pantheon match up in the solo top lane. I just started playing WuKong after purchasing him while he is on sale, played around five non-ranked with him before taking him into ranked where I am currently 4-0 with him. However, my last game was against a Pantheon and I got completely sh*t on in the lane phase though was able to able to recover a tiny fraction of my dignity back in the late game, and win, albeit going 9/12/10 -- which IS a recovery from being 3/9 at one point, but definitely shows that I need to improve with WuKong. The build order that I went was: Cloth Armor, Pots x5, Boots, Wiggles, Ninja Tabi, Phage - Zeal - Sheen - TF - Ghostblade.

I think a big problem was that I tried to fight him at level two and got annihilated, and then was focused by their jungling Nautilus whilst receiving no assistance from our jungling Riven. But, I am looking for any suggestions on how to play the match up. The other laners I've played against in ranked with Wukong have been: Fiora, Warwick, and Renekton. Warwick and Renekton were both very difficult but I was able to play defensively and maintain a strong K/D/A with good assistance from my junglers in those respective games.

Axiaz

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

07-15-2012

Yup. You definitely shouldn't fight Pantheon unless you already have a big advantage over him. Play passively and don't try to stay in lane when you have low hp, his crit will finish you off.. He falls off late game unless you feed him. Also, once he reaches 6, you must absolutely call mia or he'll ult onto other lanes. Warding the river is also a good idea.

Other than that, you handled the match up pretty well. Though getting an early Chain Vest would've been a good idea as well.