Riot, be honest

First Riot Post
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Aeolian Melodies

07-14-2012

This is not a QQ thread. I almost never create threads and there's enough /mylife here anyway. It's a legit questioning.

I've been a support player since... well, since I started playing really. I pretty much only picked up LoL because I was told "you can play support too" and the first game I ever played was with Sona and she made me fall in love with the game. I've always found it enjoyable even if it's selfless, even if we sometimes get yelled at more than we deserve and get praised less than we deserve. I've learned to cope with that and to identify my fails and my good plays by myself, raging at myself on my own for the bad plays, and giving myself a pat on the back when I do something good.

However, patch after patch after patch, pretty much all I see is nerfs. Nerfs. And more nerfs. What is a support supposed to do?

Is it... healing? Healing is the first thing that comes to your mind when I say support, right? Well apparently, healer isn't what Riot wants us to be, because Sona's W was nerfed so much it is barely a shadow of what it was when she was released, Taric's sustain was gutted when he was remade, Ali's sustain got nerfed last patch (lolwut), and Soraka, the game's dedicated healer, keeps getting nerfed and called "toxic" by Rioters.

So it's not healing you want us to do. Oh wait!!! Is it... buffing? Is amplifying our allies' power what you want us to do? Mmhhh... Janna's shield was nerfed hard when the AD buff got tied to the dmg absorbing shield, Sona's auras were destroyed, Soraka's bonus armor on W got nerfed too... so I guess it's not what you want us to do. Fine then.