Video Settings

12
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Destroiotron

Junior Member

11-06-2009

LoL was running fine for me and I decided to turn everything to the highest settings(bad idea). Now I get a black screen whenever I start am match, indicating that my system is not fir to run everything on high graphics. The only problem is that i cant figure out any way to turn my graphics settings back down. I can't change them in game because my screen is black and I can't find a way to change them in the pregame menu or in the PvP.net menu. Currently I am fixing the problem by re-downloading the installer and re-installing the game all together. I am wondering if there is a much easier way to fix this problem, such as changing the settings from the game folder or something. The reason I still want to know is because if I am trying to find the optimal video settings for my system, I don't want to have to re-install the game if my screen goes black again.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

sprinkel

Junior Member

11-06-2009

same problem here...


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

TristinX

Member

11-16-2009

Find the LoL install should be:
LoL\Riot Games\League of Legends\game\DATA\CFG

edit the Game.cfg file to change settings back

Not sure if this helps or not, but I know you can change settings here.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

myrmidon

Senior Member

11-16-2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by TristinX View Post
Find the LoL install should be:
LoL\Riot Games\League of Legends\game\DATA\CFG

edit the Game.cfg file to change settings back

Not sure if this helps or not, but I know you can change settings here.
To clarify this a bit, the physical directory (by default) is

C:\Riot Games\League of Legends\game\DATA\CFG\Game.CFG

What you need to do is go into this directory, open up Game.CFG with notepad (right click, open with, then select notepad), then edit under

[General]

Width = xxx
Height = xxx

Try a setting like 800 for Width and 600 for Height.

Hope this works!!

These are my default settings but I have a kind of powerful PC, and a widescreen LCD.

[General]
LanguageLocaleRegion=en_US
Width=1440
Height=900
Colors=32
Windowed=0
WaitForVerticalSync=1
[Sound]
DefaultMusicVolume=200.0000
[Performance]
AutoPerformanceSettings=1
CharacterQuality=3
EnvironmentQuality=3
Full3DModeEnabled=0
GammaEnabled=1
EffectsQuality=3
ShadowQuality=1
ShadowsEnabled=1
PerformanceTestScore=356.3138
[HUD]
DrawHealthBars=0
DrawCenterHudWall=1


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kagehell

Junior Member

12-29-2009

hey..i still have some questions about it. i have two files with name game.cfg. One of then is on C:\Riot Games\League of Legends\game\DATA\CFG\game.cfg and the other is on C:\Riot Games\League of Legends\game\DATA\CFG\default\game.cfg i already tryed to change settings on both with notepad...but nothing happens. theres something else that i can do? thanks ^^


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

ihaveajellybelly

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Junior Member

04-16-2011

i dont know if it is because of the new launcher but i dont have that any more


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

ihaveajellybelly

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Junior Member

04-16-2011

nvm i found here in my folder
C:\Riot Games\League of Legends\RADS\solutions\lol_game_client_sln\release s\0.0.0.30\deploy\DATA\CFG
just putting it out here


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Deganky

Junior Member

06-19-2011

thanks this helped heaps


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

FG Tank Girl

Junior Member

06-26-2011

Quote:
Originally Posted by ihaveajellybelly View Post
nvm i found here in my folder
C:\Riot Games\League of Legends\RADS\solutions\lol_game_client_sln\release s\0.0.0.30\deploy\DATA\CFG
just putting it out here

Thank you for that


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

sabith3011

Junior Member

11-23-2011

or just uninstall... and reinstall. pretty simple. i had the same problem. uninstall league of legends, find the setup file and click on it. It will prompt you to reinstall


12