Mechanic: Burn

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

idrum4all2see

07-13-2012

I have been playing league of legends for about two years now. As each new champion is released I've come to notice we've fallen into a horrible slump as players with the current North American Meta.
You have a bruiser in Top lane, Mage in Mid, some sort of off tanky bruiser or mage in jungle and Ranged carry with support in bottom lane.
This is stale and boring, why not mix up the meta a bit. My suggestion:
Burns
Not just Mana Burn, but energy burn and rage burn as well.

I have read up on many of the arguments that people make about what mana burn used to do on wits end. And I'm prepared to make multiple rebuttals and try to prove why adding a burn effect would not only allow for better counterpicks, but would also allow you to shift the meta, so that it's not so robotic and stale.

Quote:
Argument 1: Champions like Rammus would be shut down by Mana Burn because of his low Mana Pool.
I understand where you're coming from. I remember watching videos of the days of old when people would auto attack Rammus and he would be OOM, then just be killed.
Rebuttal: Burn would be used for laning.
Keep in mind I am by no means suggesting an Item. That was a bad idea, stacking attack speed made Mana Burn destroy rammus. I'm saying give a character a burn ability as a utility. It costs them extra mana every time they used it, the way kog's ult does, and allow them to burn an enemies rescource.
Quote:
Argument 2: Champions with no rescourse would counter this champion.
You're darn right they would. You can't release a champion that doesn't have a counter, that would just be insane *Cough* Yorick *Cough*, but there has to be a way to counter a champion, at least one, if it be an item or mechanic.
Rebuttal: I'm not disagreeing.