How To Build Items

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

AnonymousBanana

Recruiter

06-25-2012

I'm still pretty new to the game but I think i'm doing fairly well (or at least that's what i'd like to think). The only problem i'm having at this point is when I am building items at the shop, I just don't know what items to get based on team composition, like how to buy based on my team and how to counter the other team. Any advice on how to optimize my shopping strategy.

Z The Slayer

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

06-25-2012

Sure. I'd love to help.

Unfortunately, you will just have to learn what items do what, and how champions are built. But I'll give you a rundown of pretty much everything you will need to know.

Enemies are broken down into 3 different types of damage: AP, AD, and Tanks. I say tanks are a source, because it will be easier to classify them. Just ignore anyone that is a tank. Then count up the remaining champs. If they are balanced (2 AP or 2 AD) then focus on either your own damage type or getting both kinds of resistances. Guardian Angel is a decent item in this scenario.

If you are Ability Power
If the enemy is heavily magic damage (2 AP + 1 AD, or something similar) and you are also magic damage, you will want items like Abyssal Scepter or Lich Bane, items that give you magic resist while still improving your own damage output. Banshee's Veil is also an extremely good choice.

However, if the enemy has high Attack Power champs, you will want to think about Frozen Heart
or Zonya's Hourglass, which will improve your spellcasting, but still give you high armor. If you need an extreme armor item to counter a very high AD team, think about getting Thornmail.