Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS

When to engage?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Hirumonogatari

06-16-2012

Hi, asking for more help on judgement calls.

I usually run with the philosophy of "any and all deaths can and should be preventable before team fight phase". but i've also been repeatedly told that this is not a good analogy to stick to.

i usually play AD carry and am fairly squishy, so i like to keep out of trouble most of the time. So i guess i need some help on scenarios and stuff you gguys can come up with where you SHOULD risk your neck and go in. i'm still learning positioning in teamfights but i'm getting better at it. but my pre-teamfight phase is a lot of passivity.

Delanish

06-16-2012

Play how you want there different ways to answer that for every situation. Just watch say Team Solo Mid or CLG NA play if you wanna see how the pros do it and even their attempts sometimes fail.

midillusion

06-16-2012

Whenever you die, you have to always consider the gold that each team got and ask yourself "was that worth it?" For example, let's say the enemy team is doing dragon, none of your team is around to help you contest it. You jump in at the last minute and smite the dragon, stealing the gold from the enemy team. However, as soon as you smite the dragon, the enemy team turns on you and you die. Assuming you are worth no extra gold, your death would have been worth it because dragon is worth more than a single kill, especially if the enemy team uses summoners or ulties to kill you.