Alistar build -- tank, support, or in between?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

MeltedWater

05-30-2012

I'm fairly new to LoL. The first role I learned was support. Then AD. Then AP. Now, I need to learn tank. I tried out some tanks (ok, a LOT of tanks) and didn't like anyone until this loveable bull became free last week. After playing him some, I bought the champion and a skin (oh, wait, those were free. Right. Anyway...) and I'm playing him some more. I don't like tanking, but if I have to be the tank, I like Alistar. I usually (OK, 100% of the time) lane with a carry. I haven't solo'd top, I haven't jungled, just duo-laned. That's fine and all, but most people at my level in normal BLIND games don't follow the meta. There is only a jungler about half the time (and half of that, it's me, and not as Alistar) and virtually noone plays a support (or, if they do, they don't build a support). So here's my MAIN question:

TL;DR: Is a tank's job to stay alive, or to keep everyone else alive? If you said stay alive, then what if there's no support? Does my role change, and now I have to keep everyone else alive?

I play Soraka pretty well, and she's my favorite support, but I understand that if there's no tank then I should probably be a tankier support, and I can still support. But...should I?

Let those questions soak in your mind, and now, let me go through a list of some of the (what I consider) better items for Alistar. I'm more so looking for people to tell me what NOT to get, than what to get. Some of these items I think might be viable are acctually not so great.

Aegis of the Legion: This item doesn't seem to give quite enough HP, Armor, and Resist to be useful as a tank item, but it's a cheap item that I can get if I'm duo-laning without needing a lot of gold. I build it as about my 3rd or 4th item (first "big" item) on Soraka. Is it good on Alistar?