Champions to learn?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

ASHORTHOE

05-22-2012

I've been playing on and off for the past 6 months or so, not really very serious but just casually when I have time. I like the game, but I feel weird since I only know a couple champions (Kassadin and Tryndamere). It seems like everyone has a variety of champions they pick from depending on the situation. So what do most people do? Learn every main role (AD carry, AP carry, tank, support, and jungler), or something like that? Because it seems like I would need to learn more than a couple in case I get countered. On the other hand, learning 20 champions seems really tough keeping track of runes and builds and such. So any tips on what variety of champs I should learn?

AlethiaArete

05-22-2012

I think the goal is to learn between 10-15: 2 or 3 for each job. Most of the time I think you can generalize runes and masteries for several different champs though, to help keep track of them.

Also I think people say they understand more jobs and champs then they really do. Sometimes you just have to fill a spot even if you don't understand it much.

Kaoelith

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

05-23-2012

If you become good at 3 roles you can cover the other 2 fairly easily(except jungle that can be hard if you aren't used to it) since 3 of them are the same, just different champ types

good champs to learn are ones that can do multiple roles such as jarvan and ali they can both jungle and jarvan does top solo ali support

the main thing to learn is how champs use their skills to be effective
ex.all ads play the same basically aside from skills and ez/corki build, they have almost no cc, focus on last hits and trading pokes whole lane phase
supports focus on cc or heals for the ad
jungles are ganks if available
ect