How Each Lane/Role Carries (Advice Thread)

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Killzerz

05-02-2012

Hi! My tag is Killzerz, and I would like to briefly summarize how each role carries and when they are most effective. Yes, I don't play ranked but my normal elo is 1500-1600 and I've seen more wins the losses recently (I was a terrible player before 30s and raged too much [and even now I'm still learning! The journey is never over!]). I'm not saying you should take my words as gospel, but take it with a grain of salt! My major roles are anyone tanky, mainly top and jungle, however I have dabbled into supporting, AP mid, and AD carry.

Jungler:
1) Know thy enemy. It is really important to protect against early invasions if you have a blue start and they have a red start. For instance, I am Udyr/Skarner/Jarvan, I might want to hang around wraiths until 1:30 just to make sure nothing fishy is happening. Also, most junglers can take both buffs within the first minutes if you feel you might be invaded.
2) Group. If you feel they can invade, tell people to group. You call the shots here.
3) Ganks. If you don't know how to manage turret aggro, you shouldn't be jungling.
4) Build tanky. Some champs can get away with more DPS orientated builds, but these are the exception, not the norm. You need to be able to tank while your laners do damage lategame.
5) Dragon control, when to do it and when not to do it.
6) Know tricky ways to enter lanes so wards become less of a hindrance. In fact, if you can do this correctly, they will bait themselves because they think they are safe with a ward (Tryndamere and Shaco can jump walls, Alistar can come behind the tower, lane ganks are scary as hell).
7) You call Barons. Do not let them get stolen. Also, Baron baits are pretty funny and awesome, they win games.
8) Buff control. The second blue should be handed off to mid usually, while red really helps top/bottom lane (pass the third red to one of these lanes).