LoLU Lesson 4: The Things Novices Do

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

MikeLemmer

04-25-2012

Previous LoLU Lessons:
Lesson 1: Attitude
Lesson 2: Minions and the 1v0 Custom
Lesson 3: Champion Roles & Lanes

Pardon the delays getting this next lesson out, I was busy. You see, after the previous lesson, I thought to myself, "You know, it's been months since I was a young newb, running around the map with barely any inkling what to do. How can I properly give advice to novices when I don't remember how games played at their level?"

So I began a smurf account.

*cue horrified gasps & random women fainting*

WARNING: Smurfing is a hideous practice that is solely in the realm of evildoers & ne'er-do-wells. Even though this was done solely for the purposes of Science and the enlightenment of all, MikeLemmer admits he is a horrible, horrible person. Shame, MikeLemmer! Shaaaaame!

My initial results are as follows:
*incoherent screaming and sobbing*

I do not envy you. Many were the time I entered the field with a new, random champion, without even a look at a SoloMid guide, attempting to replicate the experience of a newbie to an accurate degree. Even with my knowledge of the game, 'lo! I was cut down many times by fed Yis and Mundos with insane AD & life drain, probably also played by smurfs judging from the 100-200 minion kills. I watched as they marched across the battlefield, cutting down champions apparently played by toddlers like a scythe through wheat. Oh, the horror!

So, what's your record?
You don't wanna know.
No really, what's your record?
...3 wins, 5 losses.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA-
*sigh*

Anyway, amidst the tears and burning, I have compiled a list of behaviors novices perform that are usually not seen in high-level play, either due to experience or the gameplay changes as you advance. Without further ado:

The Things Novices Do
(And no, I'm not including things like "last hit less". I didn't put "Blindingly Obvious" up there.)