Bot Lane?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

SheriffV2

03-15-2012

Hello, I am a noob who does not understand Dominion tactics...

This concept of someone strictly staying bot lane confuses me. Why not just cap 3, attempt to cap others while also defending? What benefit is there to laning bottom? What makes bottom any different than the 2 other cap-points on your teams side of the map?

Octovert

03-15-2012

There are no other 2 cap points on your teams side of the map. You have your "bottom" near the lower outlet from your fountain, and your "mid" near the upper outlet from your fountain. These are your two "home" locations. They're easy to defend, because you spawn near them and can easily go home for health, and cruise back.

Top is the one spot that is equidistant from both bases. Therefore, it's the easiest to defend that isn't yours. The last two spots are the most difficult to take and reinforce for all the aforementioned reasons

As for why does someone stay bottom - it's to prevent their bottom player from walking in and taking it. Not that you have to man your bottom lane 100% of the time, but it's generally a good idea. If for any reason their bottom laner leaves to do something else, you push in and take it.

SheriffV2

03-15-2012

I see. I meant, Mid/Bot. Since they are, or seem to be, equidistant from Respawn.

But I guess Mid needs a dedicated defender less than Bot, as people attacking/defending Top can always fall back to Mid. Whereas it'd be harder to go from Top->Bot at the drop of a dime.

Yaladilae

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

03-15-2012

Also you need to consider how minion spawn, because minions are very powerful things

assume you have top mid and bot, your mid will not have minion constantly attacking it because the points on both side are also on your team.
So by defending bot, it acts as a gateway for them to have minion to push your mid point and take it.