Sion mid problems

First Riot Post
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Climactic

01-30-2012

I don't think i'm a pro by any means but do think i'm better than my 1300 elo and have had luck at this elo because i've been winning maybe 3 out of every 4 games lately going mid lane. I tend to beat almost anyone mid by counterpicking and just picking safe if i'm before their pick or asking for a trade but just lately when going cass mid I went against a sion and just got slaughtered. I've used sion also and by level 5 was 2 shotting an enemy karthus. What counters sion and/or what can i do because he just destroyed me?

Any help would be awesome, thanks community!

18X Jake

01-30-2012

Anything with range that can do damage. You have to break his shield before he can get in range to stun you. He will precast it and wait for the 4s to be able to detonate it manually. It's your job to pop it before he can. For example anivia can cast Q and since it has a long range not get stunned, but at the same time stun sion and break the shield. Not sure about Cass's range but you would need to twin fang to reliably break the shield. Anything that can burst the shield out will prevail.

Riot Ambassador

Riot Games Ambassador

01-30-2012
1 of 1 Riot Posts

This is just generally a tough lane since Sion can zone pretty well with his stun and shield. However, if you can get Sion to use his shield on the minions more than not you can farm up next to your tower, which is your best bet.

Another way to approach this is a champion that offers a silence or stun as frequent as Sion's. Always remember that if you trade damage in lane you want this trade to be as equal as possible. Being able to break Sion's shield before it goes off can counter a lot of this damage.

-RyuTres

ADC Annie

01-30-2012

leblanc wrecks sion in mid, silence + snare, no shield detonation and you gain the mobility with her w.

Dominace

01-30-2012