Unlocking champions?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

TandooriChicken

07-15-2010

hey guys,

This is tandooriChicken!
I'm new to this game but not the genre (ex-Dota player). I really like the game so far and I'm sure I'll stick around.
What I found rather surprising is the whole champion unlocking thing. I've always been used to having everyone available by default.

And I think it kind of sucks to not be able to try someone that looks cool immediately. I'd have to either play enough and unlock them, wait for them to go free, or buy them with actually money.

Speaking of buying them though, I don't really mind spending a couple of dollars considering this game is cool and free. However, I wanted to know from you guys if it's actually worth buying champions with real money?
Just shed some light on this issue based on what you guys think from your personal experience.
If it is worth it, how would you'll recommend I go about it, since there seem to be a number of options out there (packs,etc).

Thanks in advance.

DogOfThunder

07-15-2010

First off, you can always wait to try someone out when they rotate the Free Champions each week. 10 Champs will always be available for free.

Personally, I bought the Collector's Edition which comes with 20 heroes and $10 of Riot Points. I used the $10 to buy Nidalee, as she was the first post-launch hero to be introduced. The Collector's Edition gave me more then enough heroes to try and learn as I slowly bought the remaining heroes with IP, learning a new hero every two or three weeks in the process. It's a very gratifying way to slowly build your collection in my opinion.

If you want to use real money, you can also wait until a champion is on sale. That way you can get them for 33%-50% off the normal price and conserve your points.

SomniumProxy

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

07-15-2010

hey ! welcome aboard :P