Canadian Lag

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

reapermaster

Senior Member

12-19-2011

the request time outs are normal. Its how the system responds when the router provider makes it so the IP cannot be pinged.

my theory has changed a bit as not all of you are going through the same location.... back to the drawing board.

amazing how much shaw jumps around.. something isnt right as it goes from one side of the continent to the other in a single hop.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

King Cube

Senior Member

12-19-2011

Here you go, hope this helps.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

King Cube

Senior Member

12-19-2011

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapermaster View Post
the request time outs are normal. Its how the system responds when the router provider makes it so the IP cannot be pinged.

my theory has changed a bit as not all of you are going through the same location.... back to the drawing board.

amazing how much shaw jumps around.. something isnt right as it goes from one side of the continent to the other in a single hop.

For what it's worth, I find Shaw is a terrible ISP and they choose to do this because between Shaw and Telus they have a duopoly on internet over the majority of Canada.

Only some places, like Saskatchewan with Sasktel have alternative internet options that are worthwhile.


Even in popular cities like Vancouver, if you're not in downtown you're really shafted when it comes to internet.


Shame, really.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Zer0Kage

Member

12-19-2011

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Imperfect View Post
For what it's worth, I find Shaw is a terrible ISP and they choose to do this because between Shaw and Telus they have a duopoly on internet over the majority of Canada.

Only some places, like Saskatchewan with Sasktel have alternative internet options that are worthwhile.


Even in popular cities like Vancouver, if you're not in downtown you're really shafted when it comes to internet.


Shame, really.
Regardless of Shaw as an ISP, it seems to only be affecting League of Legends games. Hopefully we can figure it out. I've only been seeing this problem since last night.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Azareil

Junior Member

12-19-2011

I'm in Ontario on Shaw and am getting the same thing as everybody else. As for how reliable Shaw is, well, it's better than Bell.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Tide

Member

12-19-2011

I'm on Bell lines, and I'm in Ontario as well. I don't think it's an error related to ISP, unless the Riot servers are accidentally blocking certain incoming addresses.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Zer0Kage

Member

12-19-2011

My guess is that either Riot or Shaw changed something and they don't play as nice as they used to anymore. What it is will take some investigation so we should help the Wrenchmen when we can.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Shadowscars

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Junior Member

12-19-2011

I do not use shaw, i use Primus in ontario and am suffering the exact same issue as the rest of the people.
Just did trace route i go through Shaw

2 13 ms 87 ms 35 ms dsl-173-206-64-1.tor.primus.ca [173.206.64.1]
3 42 ms 34 ms 12 ms 216.254.130.133 [216.254.130.133]
4 13 ms 74 ms 45 ms rx0sh-mountain-cable.mt.bigpipeinc.com [66.244.2
23.238]
5 39 ms 56 ms 25 ms ra2sh-ge3-4-14.mt.bigpipeinc.com [66.244.223.237
]
6 52 ms 42 ms 45 ms ra1sh-ge3-3.mt.shawcable.net [66.163.66.33]
7 58 ms 95 ms 75 ms rc2sc-pos0-8-5-0.wp.shawcable.net [66.163.77.169
]
8 79 ms 126 ms 67 ms rc1nr-tge0-2-5-0.wp.shawcable.net [66.163.73.193
]
9 105 ms 139 ms 110 ms rc2so-tge0-9-5-0.cg.shawcable.net [66.163.77.53]

10 92 ms 143 ms 102 ms rc2wh-pos0-15-5-0.vc.shawcable.net [66.163.76.18
6]
11 120 ms 121 ms 103 ms rc4wt-pos0-0.wa.shawcable.net [66.163.76.154]
12 78 ms 140 ms 105 ms xe-0-2-0-2.r04.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [198.1
04.202.121]
13 83 ms 159 ms 96 ms ae-6.r21.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.4
4]
14 78 ms 147 ms 91 ms ae-0.r20.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.5
3]
15 87 ms 142 ms 93 ms ae-3.r20.snjsca04.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.5
3]
16 85 ms 138 ms 116 ms ae-0.r21.snjsca04.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.9
7]
17 100 ms 122 ms 106 ms ae-6.r20.lsanca03.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.1
46]
18 154 ms 207 ms 151 ms po-1.r00.lsanca17.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.2
42]
19 158 ms 112 ms 144 ms xe-1-3.r00.lsanca17.us.ce.gin.ntt.net [198.172.9
0.26]
20 116 ms 140 ms 120 ms 216.52.255.103
21 121 ms 102 ms 153 ms 64.7.194.114
22 * * * Request timed out.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Zer0Kage

Member

12-19-2011

So far I've noticed that my friends on Telus don't have this issue... so just by first hand accounts... the affected ISPs are Primus, Shaw, Rogers.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

PocketJelly

Junior Member

12-19-2011

I am having the same problem nearly every game. I am from Lower Mainland area in BC using Shaw. I also play from another house a city over that also runs off Shaw and I experience the same problem.



Tracing route to 64.7.194.114 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms 70.78.12.1
2 13 ms 27 ms 11 ms rd1wh-ge1-1-2.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.158.147]
3 14 ms 23 ms 11 ms rc2wh-tge0-4-0-0.vc.shawcable.net [66.163.69.89]

4 56 ms 82 ms 71 ms rc4wt-pos15-0-0.wa.shawcable.net [66.163.76.210]

5 17 ms 23 ms 31 ms xe-0-6-0-4.r04.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [198.1
04.202.161]
6 28 ms 40 ms 18 ms ae-6.r20.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.4
2]
7 39 ms 37 ms 36 ms ae-3.r20.snjsca04.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.5
3]
8 41 ms 46 ms 33 ms ae-0.r21.snjsca04.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.9
7]
9 79 ms 44 ms 56 ms ae-6.r20.lsanca03.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.1
46]
10 45 ms 47 ms 45 ms po-1.r00.lsanca17.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.2
42]
11 47 ms 48 ms 51 ms xe-1-3.r00.lsanca17.us.ce.gin.ntt.net [198.172.9
0.26]
12 46 ms 46 ms 54 ms border1.po1-20g-bbnet1.lax010.pnap.net [216.52.2
55.13]
13 46 ms 55 ms 48 ms 64.7.194.114
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.