Welcome to the Forum Archive!

Years of conversation fill a ton of digital pages, and we've kept all of it accessible to browse or copy over. Whether you're looking for reveal articles for older champions, or the first time that Rammus rolled into an "OK" thread, or anything in between, you can find it here. When you're finished, check out the boards to join in the latest League of Legends discussions.

GO TO BOARDS

Tips for Garen?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

IntFam

06-10-2010

So, I'm not a new player, but I am fairly new to playing a dps carry that isn't Warwick (I got him for the Urf skin and enjoy playing him a lot.) I recently picked up Garen because his mechanics seemed interesting and I've gotten tired of playing Warwick when I'm not maining as Soraka or Heimer. Played a few practice games with him and noticed some key problems I'm having.

The first is my ability to fall back. Maybe it was the enemy team comp, but in the third practice game I played, I found myself frequently being run down by the enemy team, in spite of how much I used my qwe skills as escape mechanisms. Used Q for the boost of speed when needed. Threw up W when I saw a lot of incoming spells to soften the blow. Used E to break and avoid slows and snares. I still couldn't efficiently escape. Now, this may be a non-issue as in this game, I was frequently being chased by Teemo, and being without any sort of ranged attack to throw back at him to break his run speed buff, I would usually get mown down by him when fleeing.