unspecified RADS error!? help pl0x?

12
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

GentleChop

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Recruiter

07-23-2011

Well looking through the other forums didn't help me solve it.
When I try to launch LoL, I get an error that says:
"RADS error"
"Unspecified RADS error occured, check logs for more information"

This is the log, it was in a file named self-update..
"( USER)[14:55:01.921] RADS::UserKernel::Application::Run: Riot Application Distribution System (c) 2010 Riot Games (version 1.0.0.213)
( ERROR)[14:55:02.453] RADS::UserKernel::Application::SelfUpdate: This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.
( ERROR)[14:55:02.453] RADS::UserKernel::Application::SelfUpdate: CreateProcess failed.
( ERROR)[14:55:02.453] RADS::UserKernel::Application::Run: SelfUpdate failed.
( USER)[14:55:02.453] WinMain: Unspecified error occurred. Please check the logs for more information."

I've tried reinstalling it and running as Admin, and restarting the computer, and taking down my firewall, but nothing works.
Any ideas, anyone? :/


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Johnny Two Balls

Member

07-23-2011

Happening to a lot of people, including myself. Not much we can do but wait it out.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

TractorFarm

Member

07-23-2011

Try this to check connectivity with riot servers:

start-> run-> cmd (press enter)

type in ipconfig /flushdns (press enter)
type in nslookup l3cdn.riotgames.com (press enter)
type in tracert l3cdn.riotgames.com (press enter)

Right click the window-> Select All-> right click the window again-> The contents are now in your clipboard and you can use the paste function to put them in here.

To check for overall internet connectivity issues:

type in ping google.com -t (press enter)

Watch for a while. If you ever see "Request times out" or a response of larger than 300ms, then chances are that there is something wrong with your connection.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Logitech Jason

Junior Member

07-23-2011

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sutaraito View Post
Happening to a lot of people, including myself. Not much we can do but wait it out.
wait until what? the next patch? will that fix it? i've tried pretty much everything and its kind of frustrating lol :P


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Logitech Jason

Junior Member

07-23-2011

Quote:
Originally Posted by TractorFarm View Post
Try this to check connectivity with riot servers:

start-> run-> cmd (press enter)

type in ipconfig /flushdns (press enter)
type in nslookup l3cdn.riotgames.com (press enter)
type in tracert l3cdn.riotgames.com (press enter)

Right click the window-> Select All-> right click the window again-> The contents are now in your clipboard and you can use the paste function to put them in here.

To check for overall internet connectivity issues:

type in ping google.com -t (press enter)

Watch for a while. If you ever see "Request times out" or a response of larger than 300ms, then chances are that there is something wrong with your connection.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

D:\Documents and Settings\Jason>ipconfig /flushdns

Windows IP Configuration

Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.

D:\Documents and Settings\Jason>nslookup l3cdm.riotgames.com
*** Can't find server name for address 192.168.1.1: Non-existent domain
Server: snsslb.mountaincable.net
Address: 24.215.0.249

*** snsslb.mountaincable.net can't find l3cdm.riotgames.com: Non-existent domain


D:\Documents and Settings\Jason>tracert l3cdn.riotgames.com

Tracing route to cdn.riotgames.com.c.footprint.net [199.93.41.254]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 10 ms 9 ms 7 ms 10.190.0.1
3 10 ms 9 ms 7 ms 24.102.5.65
4 10 ms 14 ms 9 ms 66.163.78.101
5 21 ms 23 ms 23 ms rc1ec-pos0-7-0-0.il.shawcable.net [66.163.76.145
]
6 27 ms 29 ms 27 ms 66.163.65.2
7 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms xe-4-2-0.edge3.Chicago3.Level3.net [4.53.96.105]

8 23 ms 62 ms 25 ms ae-31-51.ebr1.Chicago1.Level3.net [4.69.138.30]

9 50 ms 51 ms 41 ms ae-1-5.bar1.Boston1.Level3.net [4.69.140.93]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * *

this is what came up for me, so something's wrong with my connection? if you know how to fix it, please let me know D:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

D:\Documents and Settings\Jason>nslookup l3cdn.riotgames.com
*** Can't find server name for address 192.168.1.1: Non-existent domain
Server: snsslb.mountaincable.net
Address: 24.215.0.249

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: cdn.riotgames.com.c.footprint.net
Addresses: 8.27.232.126, 198.78.200.126, 199.93.41.254
Aliases: l3cdn.riotgames.com


D:\Documents and Settings\Jason>/


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Logitech Jason

Junior Member

07-24-2011

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

D:\Documents and Settings\Jason>nslookup l3cdn.riotgames.com
*** Can't find server name for address 192.168.1.1: Non-existent domain
Server: snsslb.mountaincable.net
Address: 24.215.0.249

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: cdn.riotgames.com.c.footprint.net
Addresses: 8.27.232.126, 198.78.200.126, 199.93.41.254
Aliases: l3cdn.riotgames.com


D:\Documents and Settings\Jason>/

ty


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Logitech Jason

Junior Member

07-24-2011

what does this even mean? =/


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Logitech Jason

Junior Member

07-24-2011

am i supposed to have rads logs? cause i dont


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Uroboros

Senior Member

07-24-2011

This has happened twice now. Twice, after an "update", now I can no longer connect to the server at all. Before, no problems, now the server is unable to resolve at all.

I am not fully reinstalling the ****ed game for a third time so I can play for a few hours and get cut off.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

TractorFarm

Member

07-24-2011

Those results look normal, sorry :-/ I kind of wish there was something wrong so I could help you fix it, but this may be something only Riot can help with.


12