Shaco. How to early game?

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Zezaru

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

04-07-2010

I've recently been reacquainted with Shaco and have been playing it practically every game. I have noticed a major flaw in my build and it is that I horribly suck early game that it makes my teammates facepalm. Once I get my Madred's Bloodrazor is when I start to own and frankly, 3800 gold takes a looong time to get. So how do I use Shaco early game and pretty much always get first blood like so many people expect me to do?

TheHegemuffin

04-07-2010

I'll take a shot at this since I'm also very new to Shaco (started last week) but, despite general sloppiness in my play, have been fairly successful at first blood. First of all, a GUARANTEED first blood doesn't matter so much as simply getting early lane kills, since I find that Shaco snowballs very well if you can get at least 2 kills by about level 5. That said, I play AP Shaco, so the Meji's isn't as demanding gold-wise as a Bloodrazor. If you REALLY REALLY want that first blood before anyone else then I suppose you can do what every next kid does who plays Shaco and mass Furor runes + Deceive + pack Exhaust + Ignite + gank whoever doesn't have Flash and hope your teammate does something. In MOST cases, though, even if you are Mr. mass crit damage AD Shaco, do yourself a favor and take JitB first, and if you really want to FB with Deceive, get an Elixir, get Lizard Buff, THEN try it. Otherwise you'll be getting Mana Golem and essentially capitalizing on your apparent weakness early game + HP lost from Golem to bait your enemies while you set JitBs in brush, behind them, essentially wherever you please with your abundant mana regen to set them off guard. Going all out with Deceive and buffs might work some of the time, but you end up having to try VERY hard for a very limited early playstyle, whereas you can almost ALWAYS rely on peo