Extreme Choppiness Issues (basically unplayable)

First Riot Post
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Volcove

08-31-2009

Long story short, I recently installed LoL. The game installed, patched and loaded successfully, and while it is initially OK to play, extreme choppiness hits the moment the lanes clash. This is associated with an extreme amount of delay, preventing actions from being registered for 5-10 seconds (sometimes even more). Needless to say, it is unplayable as it stands.

Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
1.00 GB of RAM
RADEON X600 256MB HyperMemory

This is rather perplexing, especially since other games with higher graphic requirements (Heroes of Newearth comes to mind) are still playable, even if low graphic settings are required.

My guess is that the graphics card is the problem (I have little experience in that regard), but additional input would be appreciated.

Jesse Perring

NOC Technician

08-31-2009
1 of 3 Riot Posts

Basically the specs of your computer are a bit low to run LoL very effectively. With that said there are a few things we can try to boost performance.

So the first thing I would try is double checking to make sure your graphics card drivers as well as all recent Windows updates are installed on your computer. Some users have cited optional Windows updates solving graphical issues.

Try turning all of the in game video options down to low or lowest. Turning off shadows can also give some good results for older graphics cards.

Next, try turning off as many background programs as you can manage. Type "msconfig" into Run (or the start menu search box in vista/windows 7). Use the tool that pops up to select which programs Windows runs automatically on start up. These options can be found in the Startup and Services tabs. Virus scanners are a common culprit for eating up memory.

Another possible solution is defragging your computer.

Good luck, let me know how it turns out.

Frozt